Mildred Huie Museum at Mediterranean House
Mildred Nix Huie (1906-2000) was an American Impressionist artist, sculptor, historian, and writer who in 1967 made the Mediterranean House her island studio. Born in Augusta, Georgia, Huie and a group of artists established the Left Bank Art Gallery on St. Simons Island in 1965, beginning a family tradition of sharing a love of arts and humanities with the Golden Isles community.
Huie's original paintings are permanently displayed in the historic Mediterranean House built in 1929. Built by renowned engineer, Fred Stroberg, the house boasts unique characteristics such as possessing the only functioning basement on the island!
The Plantation and Landmark Room of the museum showcases Huie’s passion for local history. Huie researched the area’s former plantations and created models and historically accurate paintings which are on display.
The Spalding-Oglethorpe Room houses archives which include information on famous people who left footprints on St. Simons/Sea Island. Visitors may peruse Huie memorabilia, a collection of rare books and may research in the extensive Civil War library.
The Great Room exhibits whimsical "Parlor Dolls.” These life-size, soft sculptures, created by Huie, gained her national attention when CBS news correspondent, Charles Osgood interviewed the artist in 1989.
You are invited to walk the grounds of today’s museum, abounding with azaleas and wisteria, enjoy the live oaks canopy and catch a glimpse of the enchanted world of Mildred Nix Huie.
Open: Friday, Saturday, Sunday 1:00pm - 5:00pm, or by appointment anytime.
Visit the virtual gift shop via the website link below.
Need Directions? Google Maps