St. Simons Lighthouse Museum
Located near the village and pier, the St. Simons Lighthouse is one of only five surviving light towers in Georgia. An operational navigation aid for traffic entering St. Simons Sound, it casts its light as far as 23 miles out to sea. Unlike many other operational lighthouses, the St. Simons Lighthouse invites visitors to climb the 129 steps to experience views of neighboring Jekyll Island, the mainland (Brunswick), and the south end of St. Simons Island.
The first lighthouse (1810) was built by James Gould of Massachusetts who became the first lighthouse keeper. That structure was destroyed by Confederate forces in 1862 to prevent the beacon’s use by Federal troops.
The current lighthouse and the lighthouse keeper’s dwelling were built in 1872. The red-brick dwelling, a unique Victorian design which draws the eye upward to the tower, houses a museum and gift shop.
For more information about hours, admission rates and group access, click here.
Address & Contact Details
Need Directions? Google Maps