Coastal Symphony of Georgia 22-23 Concert



Simple Symphony:  Benjamin Britten
Samarthana for Viola and Orchestra:  Johan Hugosson
Fratres for Viola, Percussion and Strings:  Arvo Part
Symphony No. 40:  Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Our Winter concert brings us music from a youthful Britten, a melancholy Mozart, and a renowned viola soloist.

The concert begins with the youthful exuberance of Britten’s Simple Symphony (1933.) Based on eight themes, two per movement, the music uses bits of scores he had written for piano as a teenager. Just 20 when he completed the symphony, Britten gives us a Boisterous Bourrée, a Playful Pizzicato, a Sentimental Sarabande, and a Frolicsome Finale. Prepare to be delighted!

Hugosson’s Samarthana (2021) follows. The young, Swedish composer has been described as “a national treasure” whose music is known for memorable melodies, both moving and joyful. International violist Brett Deubner will join the orchestra for this piece, as well as Part’s Fratres (1977/1991.) This work uses the tintinnabuli principle: not one but two melody voices a tenth apart, plus a third fill-in voice in the middle resulting in a rather meditative effect.

One of Mozart’s most frequently performed and greatly admired works closes the concert. Listen for the recognizable melody in the first movement and the resounding, swiftly ascending passage in the fourth. This is Mozart in a more serious mood, and it is only one of two symphonies he wrote in the minor key.